Testimonials

We receive many letters from the families we've served, thanking us for our caring ways during their time of loss. Their words warm our hearts, and speak to you of our professionalism, compassion, and the true value of the services we provide.

Years before my parents passed away, they wished to have their combined funeral taken care of by Kurzawa. When my Mom passed away last month out of state, the funeral home efficiently, respectfully, & seamlessly took care of everything for me: from coordinating the transportation of remains to NJ, the mass, the grave-side service, funeral cards, multiple obituaries, & military honors for my Dad. Their funeral parlor was beautiful. Everyone who attended the services had nothing but great things to say about Kurzawa. Even the recommended hotels & restaurants provided by Kurzawa were excellent. Kurzawa was in constant contact with me every step of the way. Rocco and his staff made a difficult chapter in my family's lives easier to get through.

5 stars
ko August 04, 2022

Every one life will come to the end sometime. But when someone dies at a young age, then became more tragic and more unexpected. We lost our son in a fatal car accident and as emigrants, we didn't know where to ask for a funeral service. Following advice from our friend, we come to Kurzawa Funeral Home in South Amboy, and that decision makes us easier to get thru a hard and stressful time we were suffering. From the first meeting with the general manager to transporting the body for cremation, everything was done perfectly. Rocco even persuaded our son's friend to convoy his body to cremation on motorcycles. We had presented all choices in detail before we decided which to choose. On the visiting day were about two hundred people and everything was cared for perfectly by the staff. I will always recommend this place to everyone. Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff, and affordable price.

5 stars
Adam M Zieba May 13, 2022

Talking with & then meeting with Rocco Cuoco, Manager he was able to guide us through the difficult decision making for our sons funeral. His compassion & knowledge put my husband & my mind at ease during this very hard time. The service & products offered at Kurzawa Funeral Home are top notch.

5 stars
Nancy Acosta August 27, 2021

Kurzawa Funeral Home first time I used them I thought they were great with my mother-in-law this time around unfortunately I had to use it for my husband Brian and I had to say they went above and beyond anyone could ever ask for their loved one. Not only did they take care of him they took care of me and my family in such a crazy unfortunate time and even after everything Rocco continue to take care of me and my family and my beloved husband I thank you from the bottom of my heart and I am forever grateful that you were there for us. The emotional and mental support received from them as well as the outstanding work they did on my husband he looked amazing I could not ask for anything more thank you

5 stars
Corina Tomassini August 12, 2021

Rocco and his team made a very sad moment in our family's life into a beautiful celebration honoring our Dad, grandfather and friend. Rocco's demeanor, compassion and attention to detail were exactly what we needed during this difficult time. Highly recommend.

5 stars
Ed Probst June 09, 2021

Beautiful service to honor my mother in law. Rocco was professional and kind and honored every single last one of her wishes. He even said a few kind words at the memorial service. I highly recommend Kurzawa!!! Thank you!!!

5 stars
Theresa Bates March 27, 2021

Hi, I don’t write many reviews. Has to be very deserving either for good or bad. This one is exceptionally great. Our Dad passed away August 14, 2020. In the midst of the chaos of the pandemic. The passing of a family member is a very earth rocking event without a world gone crazy in a pandemic. Emotions run high, many things get left up in the air, where do you turn first? Well, I am very very grateful that when I turned around and round to try and figure out what happens next, that I was fortunate enough to have called upon Rocco and his team at Kurzawa Funeral Home. He could not have possibly been more helpful - really unbelievable for us. Our Dad passed suddenly and my brother and I had never had to deal with making any type of arrangements like this before. Rocco was so very kind and understanding. I know, people in this business are supposed to be, after all, they are dealing with families that have lost someone, but the kindness and understanding and guidance we had from Rocco and staff was next level. Given all the current obstacles from Covid, the safe guidelines, the ever changing rules of gatherings, the county offices not being fully functional for proper documents and paperwork that goes along with the passing of a loved one, it can seem insurmountable - Rocco helped us thru it all, even with things that were not necessarily in his purview to be responsible for - he was there - generously helpful, every detail, follow-up,even while he himself was under the weather. I cannot possibly say enough, we are forever grateful. Sincerely, Len House

5 stars
Len House January 04, 2021

I would highly recommend Kurzawa Funeral Homes. During an extremely difficult time, Rocco was compassionate and extremely responsive. He was wonderful in helping us make decisions and always lovely. we had a very small service outside the funeral home for my brother in law and even though it is not what we are used to, it was very nicely done and we had closure that the family needed. As I told Rocco on the phone, I only have good things to say about this establishment and would feel 100% comfortable in recommending them to other families when the need arises.

5 stars
Julie Loprete June 09, 2020

Rocco, Words cannot express the gratitude my brother and his wife (Chester & Sandy Klein) have for you in their time of need. Losing their son, Bryan Klein was very difficult for them. But, what you have done for them is above and beyond and for that we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. As per our conversation on Tuesday, when this pandemic is over, we would like to have a memorial service for Bryan to celebrate his live. Again thank you for all you have done. May God bless you and your family. Have a Blessed Easter. Sincerely, Halina Dominick

5 stars
Halina Dominick April 11, 2020

My mom was very ill and we were seeking a place to help us out with the final arrangements to prepare us for the inevitable. My sister and I walked into Kurzawa funeral home and were greeted by Rocco the manager with such kindness and compassion. We were told from that day we would be treated like family and those words stayed true. During the whole unfortunate process , he basically held our hand. He answered all our questions and always made himself available for any questions we may have. He made all the arrangements starting with ordering the flowers , the obituary and ending with getting the pastor for the service. His staff as well as Rocco himself could not have been more supportive and respectful of our family and friends. I know he treats all the grieving families with such care and kindness, even so I felt he went above and beyond for our family He went as far as getting his staff yellow ties to match our families attire which was my mother's favorite color. He even took time away from his busy schedule to find a poem and read it at the end of the service. Rocco is definitely in the right business, every family going through this difficult time should be treated as we were treated like his very own family. I will be forever grateful for everything he did for us. We definitely went to the right place to give my mom everything she deserved and more. Thank you Rocco and staff for all of your caring and support Sincerely the Brinkerhoff family

5 stars
Jenna Leigh August 15, 2019

Rocco made a devastating experience of losing Mom into an experience of positive memories, leaving smiles on everyones faces and feeling blessed, as he really captured her spirit. All who came feeling sad left feelings uplifter with positive memories of her. I know Mom was looking down saying "This is a real tribute... a proper send off!" My initial concerns of what had to be done faded quickly as Rocco walked me through everything, step by step, explaining everything, with patience, kindness and respect. Thank you so much for everything! Balicki Family

5 stars
Bogumila Franklin June 13, 2019

Rocco went above and beyond to make my father's funeral service both manageable and memorable. His attention to detail and all of our needs was truly exceptional. I'm sure he has down his grandfather and his family proud. Thank you, Rocco.

5 stars
Beth Cahill May 14, 2019

where can I begin when my mom passed away in March 2019 suddenly I didn't know what to do I was in search for a funeral Home to get the burial process started I met Rocco on a very busy Day Let me Just say Rocco Made it look so simple he was compassionate from the beginning till the burial and the follow up calls after all is settled. Rocco you will always be part of my family. I

5 stars
Magdalene Williams April 28, 2019

I would like to commend Rocco for 'over the top' customer service. He is very compassionate and understanding and deserves a 5 star rating. During this most difficult time, he guided us and helped us every step of the way. He is attentive and shows 'great care' towards his customers. I sincerely appreciate the professional manner in the way he worked with me and my wife. He deserves to be recognized for his care.

5 stars
Dennis Herman April 16, 2019

This funeral home was fantastic! They really care about the family. It was such a comfortable & homelike environment! All the staff was incredible especially Rocco! Came around asking how everything was and how the family was several times which showed to me he really cared about us. Hands down made everything easier on us. I would definitely recommend this place to everyone I know.

5 stars
Cristina avi March 04, 2018

Rocco gave us a distinguished funeral for my dad . All the staff were sensitive to our needs. We are forever grateful .

5 stars
Susan Englert March 21, 2018

We couldn't be happier with the service we received at Kurzawa Funeral Home. Rocco, Ciena and the entire staff brought comfort and compassion to our family during a very difficult time. Everything was perfect due to their professionalism and personal attention to detail. Thank you all for your kindness, thoughtfulness and support and for giving our Mom the beautiful tribute she deserved.

5 stars
Barbara Lenty July 02, 2018

I cannot thank Kurzawa Funeral home enough for making such a difficult time for my family and I less stressful. They made it easy to say goodbye to our loved one without worrying about everything that comes with planning a funeral. Rocco was extremely help and very sensitive to our families needs. He made sure we were accomadated, explained everything thoroughly and helped us every step of the way. I'd also like to thank Ciena Recine for assisting Rocco, dealing with my picky family and making sure our loved one look peaceful and like himself. Overall this funeral home and their staff were amazing to us. We thank you again from the bottom of our hearts for all that you did.

5 stars
Rachael Cornacchio August 15, 2018

My sisters and I want to a Tree Candle Light Remembrance for our Dad. What a wonderful way to remember those that have gone before us. Thank You.

5 stars
Sherry Sullivan December 26, 2018

The staff at Kurzawa Funeral Home was absolutely wonderful. During this difficult time we were handled with great care and compassion. They treated us more like family or friends than clients, or customers. Our family was beyond pleased with the result and service. With Loving Appreciation, The Jasovsky Family

5 stars
Casey Cushing May 17, 2018

Top notch establishment. Rocco is the best and has your best interest. Thanks Ray

5 stars
Ray Wings68 June 01, 2022

Rocco Cuoco helped my children with their father's cremation. He was very helpful and very compassionate.

5 stars
Susan Cole April 20, 2022

Our mother was living in CA. When we learned that her health was failing we knew that we needed to make plans for her funeral early because of the fact we needed to deal with her return to NJ. We contacted Rocco at Kurzawa's. He was most understanding and helped us plan everything in advance so that when the time came, Mom would be able to return home with out any last minute problems. When Mom did pass Rocco took care of everything. We just needed to show up. Every detail was handled the day of the wake and funeral by Rocco and his staff. It was more than we could have asked for. Thank you for all that you did to make an extremely difficult time easier for us. Toni Potthoff. Ida Snyder and Maria Matheny

5 stars
Antoinette M Potthoff August 23, 2021

Mom was living in CA. When we knew that her time was coming, my sister and I went to Kurzawa's to make the arrangements to retuen her to NJ without any problems. Rocco took care of everything, from the arrangements with a funeral home in CA, with the airlines and picking her up at the airport.. Everything went so smoothly. Her viewing and service here were beautiful. It is so nice not to have to worry about anything at such a sorrowful time. Thank you Rocco and your Associates for making such a tough time manageable.

5 stars
Toni Potthoff July 26, 2021

I cannot express how amazing Kurzawa Funeral Homes has been through our difficult time. Rocco was not only attentive, responsive, and respectful-he went above and beyond with patience and kindness. Through not only our current state of affairs, but my Dad's passing, there was never a step missed, and Rocco made sure our family was taken care of. Thank you so much again, so much gratitude for all you did. UPDATE: A year later, due to the pandemic, we are holding a memorial for my father. Rocco helped my mother with a beautiful gift to give. He still a year later is very attentive and kind to my family. Thank you so very much for all you did and continued to do.

5 stars
Christine Rojas May 11, 2021

Hi, I don’t write many reviews. Has to be very deserving either for good or bad. This one is exceptionally great. Our Dad passed away August 14, 2020. In the midst of the chaos of the pandemic. The passing of a family member is a very earth rocking event without a world gone crazy in a pandemic. Emotions run high, many things get left up in the air, where do you turn first? Well, I am very very grateful that when I turned around and round to try and figure out what happens next, that I was fortunate enough to have called upon Rocco and his team at Kurzawa Funeral Home. He could not have possibly been more helpful - really unbelievable for us. Our Dad passed suddenly and my brother and I had never had to deal with making any type of arrangements like this before. Rocco was so very kind and understanding. I know, people in this business are supposed to be, after all, they are dealing with families that have lost someone, but the kindness and understanding and guidance we had from Rocco and staff was next level. Given all the current obstacles from Covid, the safe guidelines, the ever changing rules of gatherings, the county offices not being fully functional for proper documents and paperwork that goes along with the passing of a loved one, it can seem insurmountable - Rocco helped us thru it all, even with things that were not necessarily in his purview to be responsible for - he was there - generously helpful, every detail, follow-up,even while he himself was under the weather. I cannot possibly say enough, we are forever grateful. Sincerely, Len House

5 stars
L H January 05, 2021

Our family had suffered the loss of my father in July so when my grandmother died early in November, we were devastated. From the moment Rocco from Kurzawa funeral got on the phone with my mom and I, it was as if we were talking to family. It never felt like a business, or a transaction. It was always a conversation that made us feel supported and secure that all would be taken care of and be ok. As a family we cannot express how grateful we are for your kindness and care during this time.

5 stars
Ivette Sosa Dempsey December 12, 2020

My father recently passed away and Rocco at Kurzawa Funeral Homes took wonderful care of my family. We are so appreciative of the sensitivity he showed during this difficult time. He was respectful of our religious traditions and helped us navigate new cemetery regulations due to Covid-19. You can tell that he truly wants to help families. We can't recommend him and Kurzawa highly enough.

5 stars
Tamir Bloom June 04, 2020

I was honored to be a part of the Memorial Tree Lighting Ceremony on December 11th, 2019. Your staff is so dedicated to making this ceremony a special time of remembrance to those who have lost loved ones. You handled the event with such compassion and tenderness. I witnessed people come in with a heavy heart and leave with their spirits lifted. During this Christmas season, this ceremony was a beautiful gift to all of those who attended it. Many thanks to all of the staff, especially Rocco for making this possible. Chaplain Mario Spadaro

5 stars
Mario Spadaro December 22, 2019

Rocco provided considerate thoughtful advice and helped my family tremendously throughout this time. He answered every phonecall and question immediately and treated my family with dignity and care. He also kept a watchful eye on our budget, offering alternatives all the way through. I feel I've made a lifelong friend. I'm happy he has found his true vocation in life and cannot reccomend him enough

5 stars
Eileen Trask July 30, 2019

Rocco and the staff of Kurzawa Funeral Home were not just professional but anticipated our family’s needs. At a time when it was so difficult to think, having someone like Rocco attend to details and arrangements was instrumental in having the memorial service we wanted for my mom. His sensitivity and expertise were enhanced by his ability to get everything done that we asked. He was able to work quickly and to coordinate every step of the memorial in order to provide a beautiful, unique service. He was very easily accessible. Rocco is extremely supportive and his calm guidance throughout the whole experience made everything as easy as it could have been at such a difficult time. Additionally, his website offers extensive resources for grieving families. He also made himself available to us not just around the time of the memorial service, but even a year later when we needed his help transferring my mom’s ashes. Every interaction with Rocco went smoothly and felt like he had nothing but our state of mind foremost in his.

5 stars
Karen Travisano June 08, 2019

Kurzawa Funeral Home: Losing a loved one is never easy. My mom unfortunately passed away from a rough battle with ALS in early April. Watching her suffer was more than my family and I could take...that's when Rocco and his team came to the rescue. Rocco was more than supportive and understanding. He helped us take a breath with the confidence of knowing "mom"was well taken care of. His staff was patient, and took care of all of the arrangements flawlessly. Further, he took the time to explain the process, take my many calls about how the process would be carried out and made sure EVERYTHING was handled with the utmost respect and care. Pricing was more than fair and truthfully more affordable than most other funeral homes. However, the real difference between Rocco and his team, is that the fair cost, was met with the highest level of service we could have asked for. Sadly, no one wants to see a loved one go. Kurzawa allowed my family to grieve and treated my mom with the care she deserved! Thank You Rocco and the team at Kurzawa! Sincerely, Owen Kessler

5 stars
Owen Kessler May 01, 2019

I would like to commend Rocco for 'over the top' customer service. He is very compassionate and understanding and deserves a 5 star rating. During this most difficult time, he guided us and helped us every step of the way. He is attentive and shows 'great care' towards his customers. I sincerely appreciate the professional manner in the way he worked with me and my wife. He deserves to be recognized for his care.

5 stars
dennis hart April 17, 2019

Beautiful and thoughtful service for my grandmother. Rocco was attentive and thorough. I'd recommend Kurzawa to anyone.

5 stars
Kimora Beaupierre April 13, 2019

Rocco and the staff of Kurzawa Funeral Home were amazing. They handled my mother's funeral service with the respect and professionalism that one would want at this time. Paul put together a beautiful video tribute that the family was very pleased with. Rocco and the staff made this very difficult time easier and we are so grateful for that. This funeral home is very well organized and sensitive to the family's needs. We would highly recommend this funeral home to others.

5 stars
M Avi March 09, 2018

This past week my mother passed away and Rocco Cuzco, the manager, and his staff were friendly, compassionate, kind, from start to finish. The day we came to sign off on documents, select urns, was difficult but we never felt rushed. Rocco took the time to explain everything in detail. If you should ever face this kind of tragedy..I highly recommend Kurzawa Funeral Home. They make the best out of a bad situation.

5 stars
Maureen Jasovsky May 15, 2018

Everyone was extremely professional and respectful. They made everything easy and gave great comfort to the family. Rocco walked us through everything. The place is very organized, clean, and good place to pay last respects to our loved one.

5 stars
Joseph Rosenberg August 15, 2018

I would like to thank Roco & the staff of Kurzawa funeral home for everything they did for my brothers arrangements, Roco was so compassionate, kind & understanding when it came to our needs for my brother Thomas, he helped make the most difficult time in our lives a little more manageable, & was with us every step of the way! We will be forever grateful!

5 stars
Carly McNally December 24, 2018

The total experience offered by Rocco and Nick was completely filled with compassion and understanding. They were able to give to my family the knowledge that they cared to make this experience very heartfelt and as gentle as possible. This was not an easy time for our family but through Kurzawa's we persevered and genuinely thank them and all who supported us during our grieving.

5 stars
Robert Smith June 14, 2018

During this trying time, the Kurzawa Funeral Home's personnel provided my family with extraordinary care, guiding us thru a very difficult process. Their attention to details ensured that all things regarding honoring our mother were addressed. Rocco was aware of our pain in the loss of our mother and attended to our every needs immediately and with respect. Thank You for excellently assisting us in saying "good-bye" to our precious mother.

5 stars
Ada C Cortes March 04, 2018